Medication Aide Course
Completing the Clarkson College Medication Aide course opens the door to a career providing medications in a variety of settings, including nursing homes, assisted living centers, intermediate care facilities for the mentally disabled, schools, childcare settings or patient homes.
A Medication Aide is trained to work under the direct supervision of a caretaker or licensed health care professional.
The course prerequisites are as follows:
- Able to read, speak and write English.
- Competent in basic mathematics skills.
- Earned high school diploma or successfully passed the general educational development (GED) test.
- Proof of current certification in American Heart Association Basic Life Support for the health care provider (CPR with AED training).
- Successful completion of an approved Nurse Aide course (or its equivalent) or six months recent experience (minimum) working as a Nurse Aide.
- Proof of current placement on Nebraska Nurse Aide Registry (required prior to the start of the course).
- 18 years of age or older.
Applicants need to be aware of the eligibility requirements for taking the state certification testing and employment. Persons with a criminal record, substance abuse problems or health problems that would interfere with safe practices may be ineligible for state testing and/or employment. Anyone with an open court case should not register until that case is resolved. This does include misdemeanor traffic citations or anything requiring a court appearance.
Many employers may require an individual to be a Nurse Aide (CNA) before allowing them to function as a Medication Aide.
The Clarkson College Medication Aide course provides over 40+ hours of classroom instruction related to the competencies required for medication administration. Students successfully completing the course receive a certificate of completion from Clarkson College and qualify to take the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Medication Aide written examination.
- Attendance for the entire first session of class is mandatory. Individuals who are not in attendance for the entire first class session are administratively withdrawn from the course and no refund is provided.
- Attendance at every class and skills lab session in this intensive course is required. All the material covered is necessary to function as a Medication Aide, to meet the state requirements and enable you to pass the state administered competency examinations. Absences for any reason may result in failure of this course.
Note: The State Medication Aide examination is administered monthly outside the scope of this course at various locations.
Payment in full is due at the time of registration.
Course Fee: $325
Course fee includes:
- Textbook (a $45 value)
- Course handouts and materials
Credit cards accepted are: MasterCard, VISA and Discover. Make checks payable to: Clarkson College Office of Professional Development. If your check is returned for non-sufficient funds, we reserve the right to re-present the item electronically plus the state-allowed processing fee of $35. Re-presentation is handled by eTech Transaction Solutions.
All class sessions are held at Clarkson College located at 101 South 42nd Street in Omaha, Neb.
Please check on space availability by calling the Nurse Aide Hotline at 402.552.2431. The following registration options are available:
Phone: Register by phone with a credit card by calling 402.552.6148, 402.552.2311 or 800.647.5500.
In-Person: The Professional Development office is located in the lower level of Clarkson College, and the customer entrance faces the intersection of 42 and Douglas Streets. Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST View a Campus Map
Note: Class size is limited and classes fill quickly, so it is important to confirm availability and register early.
If you cannot attend the Medication Aide course you registered for, you must fill out a Professional Development Official Drop/Cancellation Form. Form must be completed, signed and returned to the Office of Professional Development before you can be officially dropped from the class. A telephone call or email request is not sufficient to cancel your registration. Download a Drop/Cancellation Form on the website listed or call and one can be emailed or postal mailed to you.
Drop/Cancellation Refund Schedule
- If the Drop/Cancellation Form is received prior to 4:00pm five (5) business days before class start date a refund minus 10% withdrawal fee will be provided.
- If the Drop/Cancellation Form is received after that, no refund is provided. If the Drop/Cancellation Form is not received, no refund will be given. A phone call or email request alone does not drop/cancel a registration.
- If course fee was paid with a credit or debit card, the refund is issued to the same card.
- For other types of payment, the refund will be sent to the payee address on file within 60 days.
- A refund is not provided nor is a transfer allowed for failure to attend, or not meeting course completion requirements.